Skip to content

Things more frustrating than taking off your shoes at airport security

August 20, 2009

You may not know this, but I really dislike TSA.  A lot.  I can look a little darker than your average whitey, and in the aftermath of 9/11 I went for four straight years of getting pulled aside for additional pat downs, searches through luggage, and having my shoes scanned (it was before taking them off was compulsory).

My personal favorite TSA moment though was at National Airport when I tied to take an unopened, factory-sealed bottle of Coke with me on my flight.  I mean, the Coca-Cola company isn’t trying to kill Americans, or at least not by bombing commercial aircraft.  Alas, the TSA lady was not amused and I had to hand over the soda, which I am positive she or someone else there drank later.

As you can imagine I was infuriated when I read today  that back in 2004 then Department of Homeland Security Secretary Tom Ridge was pressured by the administration to raise the threat level at politically sensitive times.   Ridge is claiming in his new book that the Bush people forced him to raise the security threat level on the eve of the 2004 presidential election, based on intelligence that was over three years old – a request he found worth resigning over.

For me, not only does this further confirm many of my (liberal) fears about the Bush administration, but it makes me believe that the whole color level system is a farce.  It is an excuse to abuse our civil liberties (at airports) and hype up fear in the public.  Every time I have flown in the past three years the threat level has never left orange – close to catastrophe, but not quite there yet.  Are we really ALWAYS that close to a terrorist incident?  There will always be threats against buildings, individuals, and public places, but I cannot believe that “Level Orange” is the norm; but I can believe that the Bush administration would abuse this tool for its own political gain.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe permalink
    August 21, 2009 10:50 AM

    Contrary to popular liberal belief; there are still terrorist minded in this world looking for any opportunity to attack America. I fly all the time and it only takes a few moments to realize why I get pulled over and then I make sure the next time I fly that I am wearing shoes, pants, etc. that will ensure I pass through security without alarming. Grow up and smell the reality.

Trackbacks

  1. Airport Security” « The Lovely Green

Leave a Reply

